Everyone who uses a vehicle on the road must keep it in a roadworthy condition. The MOT test checks that vehicles meet road safety and environmental standards. The first MOT test for a vehicle is required when it’s three years old. There are different rules if it’s used as a taxi.

The MOT certificate
The MOT certificate confirms that at the time of the test, without dismantling it, the vehicle met the minimum acceptable environmental and road safety standards required by law. It doesn’t mean that the vehicle is roadworthy for the length of time the certificate is valid. The MOT certificate is also no guarantee of the general mechanical condition of your vehicle. The test doesn’t cover the condition of the engine, clutch or gearbox.

What the MOT test includes:
The MOT looks at some important items on your car to see that they meet key legal requirements at the time of test.

1:  The body and vehicle structure
2:  Load security
3:  Towbar
4:  Fuel system
5:  Exhaust emissions
6:  Exhaust system
7:  Seat belts
8:  Seats
9:  Doors
10: Mirrors
11: Brakes
12: Tyres and wheels
13: Registration plates
14: Lights
15: Bonnet
16: Wipers and washers
17: Windscreen
18: Horn
19: Steering and suspension
20: Vehicle identification number (VIN)